Print FriendlyPrint This Article

Tax and Social Welfare Commission, appointments to Family Support Agency, task force for new children’s agency

The Minister for Social Protection, Joan Burton, gave details to Caoimhghin O Caolain (SF, Cavan Monaghan), of the members and work of the new Tax and Social Welfare Advisory Group (Dail Eireann, Debates, 11th October 2011, 278-9). The group was currently prioritizing the area of family and child supports so that it could make a contribution in time for the 2012 budget.  Its members were:


Ita Mangan, chairperson

John Bohan, Department of Social Protection

Derek Moran, Department of Finance

Niall Cody, Office of the Revenue Commissioners

Micheal Collins, Economic Research Unit

John Conlan, Department of Public Expenditure and Reform

Catherine Hazlett, Department of Children and Youth Affairs

Paul Kealy, Department of Jobs, enterprise & Innovation

Geralyn McGarry, Citizens Information Board

Aebhric McGibney, Dublin Chamber of Commerce

Pat Mahon, Pricewaterhousecoopers

Mary Murphy, National University of Ireland, Maynooth

Brian Nolan, University College Dublin

Marie Sherlock, SIPTU

John Sweeney, National Economic and Social Council.


Staying with appointments, the Minister for Children and Youth Affairs, Frances Fitzgerald, told Michael McGrath (FF, Cork SC) that she had appointed four members of the Family Support Agency: Catherine Hazlett, Dick Hickey, Yvette O’Mallery and Marie Fenlon, as well as two members of the National Education and Welfare Board, Brendan Broderick and Eamon Flynn (Dail Eireann, Debates, 13th October 2011, 823).  She had advertised 7 vacancies in the Family Support Agency, to which she had received 13 expressions of interest; and 3 vacancies in the National Educational Welfare Board, to which she had received 10 expressions of interest.  Details were currently under review by her officials  (Editor’s note: The inviting of expressions of interest in appointment to public bodies is a relatively new procedure designed to promote transparency and to bring fresh knowledge and experience into the boards of state agencies).


Separately, the Minister for Children and Youth Affairs announced the members of the task force to advise her department on the new Child and Family Support Agency (Dail Eireann, Debates, 18th October 2011,  289-290).  They were: 

Maureen Lynott, chairperson

Jim Breslin, Secretary General of her department

Pat Dolan, NUI Galway

Norah Gibbons, Barnardos

Sylda Langford, former director of the Office of the Minister for Children and Youth Affairs

Kevin McCoy, Northern Ireland Social Services Inspectorate

Pat McLoughlin, Ireish Payment Services Organization Ltd

Ellen O’Malley Dunlop, Dublin Rape Crisis Centre and

Liam Woods, HSE National Director Finance.