Print FriendlyPrint This Article

Appointments: NESC, alignment, Oireachtas committees

The Taoiseach informed the Dail of his appointments of independent members to the National Economic and Social Council (Dail Eireann, Debates, 22nd November 2011, 368).  They were:


Mary Daly, Queen’s University, Belfast

Anna Davis, University College Dublin

Michelle Morris (sic, should read Norris – ed), University College Dublin

Edgar Morgenroth, Economic and Social Research Institute

John McHale, National University of Ireland, Galway

Sean O Riaian, National University of Ireland, Maynooth

Michael O’Sullivan, Credit Suisse London

Mary Walsh, chartered accountant


The Minister for Environment, Community and Local Government identified to Maureen O’Sullivan (ind, Dublin C) the members of the high-level steering group to promote the greater alignment of local development and local government (Dail Eireann, Debates, 29th November 2011, 260-1):


Jim Miley, chairperson, former chairperson of Concern

Pat O’Hara, National Institute for Regional Spatial Analysis

Liam Kane, HSE South Regional Coordinator (former)

Martina Moloney, Galway County Manager

Gerry Kearney, former Secretary General, Department of Community, Rural & Gaeltacht Affairs

Geraldine Tallon, Secretary General, Department of Environment, Community and Local Government.


He told her that they had been chosen for their experience, knowledge, skills and expertise.  Later, he told Dessie Ellis (SF, Dublin NW) that he expected the final report by end January 2012 (Dail Eireann, Debates, 30th November 2011 (note that the interim report has recently been published – ed). 


Patrick Nulty (Lab, Dublin W) replaced Robert Dowds (Lab, Dublin MW) on the Select Committee on Communication,  Natural Resources and Agriculture (Dail Eireann, Debates, 23rd November 2011, 657).  Alan Farrell (FG, Dublin N) was appointed to the Select Committee on Justice, Defence and Equality in the place of Billy Timmins (FG, Wicklow) (Dail Eireann, Debates, 29th November 2011, 53).