Print FriendlyPrint This Article

3 Appointments: Human Rights and Equality Commission

The Minister for Justice & Equality, Alan Shatter, told Patrick Nulty (ind, Dublin W) that when he had appointed members of the Irish Human Rights and Equality Commission, the government had accepted the recommendation of the working group that the process of appointment be independent of government and not made on a representation basis, as had been the case before (previously, employer and employee groups had been represented – ed) (Dail Eireann, Debates, 9th May 2013, 677-9).   The fourteen members appointed were Siobhan Mullally; Teresa Blake; Orlagh O’Farrell; Mary Murphy; Betty Purcell; Heidi Foster Breslin; Sunniva McDonagh; Ray Murphy; Frank Conaty; David Joyce; Fidele Muwarasibo; Mark Kelly; Kieran Rose; and Liam Herrick.  


> Oireachtas committee on Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation: John Halligan replaced by Tom Fleming (Dail Eireann, Debates, 9th May 2013, 499).